The Kulturstiftung Ruhr

Corona virus: Villa Hügel and Park closed for Visitors until further notice

The Kulturstiftung Ruhr

Three institutions – one goal: The Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach Foundation as owner of Villa Hügel, the Krupp Historical Archive – also owned by the Krupp Foundation – and the Kulturstiftung Ruhr are working successfully together to make Villa Hügel accessible to the public, preserve it and preserve its historical heritage.

In 1984 Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Berthold Beitz, who served as Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung until his death in 2013, founded the Kulturstiftung Ruhr (Ruhr Cultural Foundation). As stated in its statutes, the aim of the Foundation is to ‘bring new momentum to the cultural life of the Ruhr region and to set standards and objectives’. Through its founding, the benefactor wanted to ‘re-establish closer links between the Ruhr region and international intellectual power centres’, ‘reconfirm the region’s tradition as an important cultural landscape’ and thereby help overcome the feeling of resignation that had begun to cripple intellectual and cultural life in the major industrial cities as of the 1980s. Thus, the Kulturstiftung Ruhr sees itself as both an initiator and a sponsor of artistic and cultural activities of high standing, chief among them internationally significant artistic and cultural-historical exhibitions.

Tradition and avant-garde

Between 1986 and 1994, the exhibitions organised by the Kulturstiftung Ruhr followed the overall theme of ‘European Metropolises’. During a period of largely impermeable boundaries between Eastern and Western Europe, they were intended to keep the memory of the shared roots of European tradition alive. Thus, in addition to their major artistic and cultural-historical significance, they also took on a political dimension. The exhibitions presented up until 2006 were devoted alternately to Flemish painting and antique Asian art. With the Josef Albers show in 2018, the curators focussed for the first time on a modern artist, thereby opening up a new perspective for the Villa Hügel.

Exhibitions

In addition to its sponsorship of exhibitions, the Kulturstiftung Ruhr cooperates with the Villa’s owner, the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung, as well as with the Krupp Historical Archive to preserve the Villa Hügel and thus ensure its accessibility for future generations. Among other responsibilities, it supports restoration projects and organises visitor activities at the Villa Hügel.

Team

Executive Committee

Dr. Ute Kleinmann
Volker Troche

Staff

Inga Rohwedder
Andrea Seifert
Ulrike Topp

Contact

Kulturstiftung Ruhr

Hügel 1
D – 45133 Essen

 

T +49 201 61 62 90
F +49 201 61 62 911
E office@villahuegel.de

Kulturstiftung Ruhr

ich freue mich über diesen schönen Tag

Kulturstiftung Ruhr

Drei Einrichtungen – ein Ziel: Die Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung als Eigentümerin der Villa Hügel, das Historische Archiv Krupp – ebenfalls im Eigentum der Krupp-Stiftung – sowie die Kulturstiftung Ruhr arbeiten erfolgreich gemeinsam daran, die Villa Hügel auch zukünftig für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen, sie zu erhalten und das historische Erbe zu bewahren.

1984 gründete Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Berthold Beitz, bis zu seinem Tod 2013 Vorsitzender der Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung, die Kulturstiftung Ruhr. Diese will laut Satzung „dem kulturellen Leben im Ruhrgebiet neue Impulse geben und Maßstäbe und Ziele setzen“. Nach dem Willen des Stifters sollte ihre Gründung „das Ruhrgebiet wieder enger mit den internationalen geistigen Kraftfeldern verbinden“, „erneut seine Tradition als bedeutende Kulturlandschaft bestätigen“ und damit jene Resignation zu überwinden helfen, die das geistige Leben in den Industriegroßstädten in den 1980er-Jahren zu lähmen begann. Die Kulturstiftung Ruhr versteht sich daher als Initiatorin wie als Trägerin künstlerischer und kultureller Aktivitäten von Rang, in erster Linie international bedeutender kunst- und kulturgeschichtlicher Ausstellungen.

Tradition und Avantgarde

Zwischen 1986 und 1994 standen die Ausstellungen der Kulturstiftung Ruhr unter dem Thema „Europäische Metropolen“. Sie sollten in einer Periode weitgehend undurchlässiger europäischer Grenzen zwischen Ost und West die Erinnerung an die gemeinsamen Wurzeln der europäischen Tradition wachhalten. Damit gewannen sie, neben ihrer hohen kunst- und kulturgeschichtlichen Bedeutung, zusätzlich eine politische Dimension. Die Ausstellungen bis 2006 beschäftigten sich im Wechsel mit flämischer Malerei und asiatischer antiker Kunst. 2018 stand mit Josef Albers zum ersten Mal ein Künstler der Moderne im Fokus der Ausstellungsmacher und eröffnete damit eine neue Perspektive in der Villa Hügel.

Ausstellungen

Neben ihrer Ausstellungstätigkeit begleitet die Kulturstiftung Ruhr Restaurierungsprojekte und organisiert den Besucherbetrieb der Villa Hügel.

Team

Vorstand

Dr. Ute Kleinmann
Volker Troche

Mitarbeiterinnen 

Inga Rohwedder
Andrea Seifert
Ulrike Topp

Kontakt

Kulturstiftung Ruhr

Hügel 1
D – 45133 Essen

E-Mail: office@villahuegel.de

Telefon: +49 201 61 62 90
Fax: +49 201 61 62 911